Odisha constitutes Heritage Cabinet

The Odisha government today issued a notification on the constitution of a ‘Heritage Cabinet,’ headed by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Chandra Panda said the ‘Heritage Cabinet’ would aim at protection of ancient monuments, temples and archaeological sites in Odisha and take steps to preserve the states culture, language and literature.

There will be eight members including chief minister in the cabinet, the notification issued by the Parliamentary Affairs Department said.

The ministers of Finance, Odia Language, Literature & Culture and Tourism, Handlooms, Textiles & Handicrafts, SC, ST Development, Higher Education, School & Mass Education and Electronics & IT are other members of the cabinet. Chief Secretary A P Padhi will be the secretary to the newly constituted cabinet.

The state cabinet at its meeting at Puri on December 26 last year had decided to set up the cabinet. (PTI)

Related Articles

Back to top button