Naveen Tenders Resignation to Governor

Bhubaneswar (Surjit Kumar Dhal)After a huge defeat in the State Assembly and Parliamentary elections, the long-serving Chief Minister of Odisha Naveen Patnaik tendered his resignation to Governor Raghubar Das at Raj Bhavan on Wednesday.

According to the information, Naveen’s carcade left for Raj Bhavan from a deserted Naveen Niwas at 11:30 am and later the five-time Chief Minister reached the Governor’s official residence at 11:35 am after which he submitted his resignation.

With this, the 24-year era of Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal’s rule came to an end. The BJD faced a huge debacle in the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. The BJD didn’t get any LS seats, while the BJP grabbed 20 of 21 seats and the Congress got one.

In Assembly polls, the BJD got only 51 seats, while the BJP grabbed a thumping majority of 78 seats. To form a government in the House of 147 seats, a party requires 75 seats. Naveen Patnaik took oath as CM for the first time on March 5, 2000. He resigned from the post of CM after 24 years and three months.

Related Articles

Back to top button