Modi Takes Oath As Prime Minister Of India

New Delhi: Narendra Modi on Sunday was sworn-in as the Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive time by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi at 7:15pm. PM Modi is the second person in India’s history to become the Prime Minister for three successive terms. The country’s first prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, had won the 1952, 1957 and 1962 general elections.

Modi’s swearing-in ceremony was followed by Cabinet ministers taking oath of office. Senior BJP leaders including Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, JP Nadda and others were administered oath by the President. The Modi 3.0 cabinet will be 72 minister strong. The team includes 30 other Cabinet Ministers, 5 Minister of State with Independent Charge and 36 Ministers of State. PM Modi retained his top ministers for key cabinet positions, with multiple positions allotted to NDA allies.

Around 1,100 traffic police personnel of the Delhi Police have been deployed and an advisory was issued to the public for the traffic movement route arrangements have been made for the delegates as part of the arrangements. Several leaders and State heads of neighbourhood region and Indian Ocean region were invited for PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony as distinguished guests, a testament to India’s ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy.

The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) in an official statement on Saturday said, “President of Sri Lanka, Ranil Wickremesinghe; President of Maldives, Mohamed Muizzu; Vice-President of Seychelles, Ahmed Afif; Prime Minister of Bangladesh, Sheikh Hasina; Prime Minister of Mauritius, Pravind Kumar Jugnauth; Prime Minister of Nepal, Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’; and Prime Minister of Bhutan, Tshering Tobgay, have accepted the invitation to attend.”

8,000 guests, including national and international leaders, were invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony. The varied guest list included outgoing Parliamentarians, BJP leaders, opposition leaders, current MLAs and MLCs, celebrated doctors, lawyers, religious leaders, sanitation workers, rat-hole miners, and heads of state from neighbouring countries.

Related Articles

Back to top button