Congress wins majority in Karnataka urban polls

In the first test of popularity of the newly-formed coalition government and ahead of next year’s crucial Lok Sabha elections, the coalition partners, the Janata Dal (Secular) and the Congress, have bagged more than 50% of the urban local bodies across 22 districts.

While the Congress, with 982 seats, emerged as the party with the largest number of winning candidates, it has also seen a slight decline in the number of seats compared to the 2013 polls in the same ULBs. The JD(S) has also seen a decline in the number of seats it had won from last time, down to 375 in 2018, and particularly being concentrated in southern Karnataka. In terms of the number of seats, the bigger gains are with the BJP, which has won 929 seats, a stark increase from 2013, when the party was coming from a massive defeat in the Assembly polls coupled with its various factions contesting the polls and undercutting votes.

Of the 105 local bodies, including three city corporations (Mysuru, Tumakuru and Shivamogga), the Congress captured power in 31 City Municipal Councils (CMCs), Town Municipal Councils (TMCs) and Town Panchayats (TPs). It is also set to rule in at least 13 TMCs and CMCs, and two city corporations, Mysuru and Tumakuru, with its alliance partners. Additionally, in Ranebennur, the Congress is expected to stake claim for power with the KPJP. The JD(S), which traditionally has its base in the Cauvery basin districts, has won 12 ULBs.

Related Articles

Back to top button