CM Post in Dilema

Bhubaneswar (Surjit Kumar Dhal): For the first time in Odisha history, the BJP has got tremendous victory in the State. When 74 seats are needed to form a government, BJP alone has won 78 seats included one independent member from Dharmasala constituency and also got some support from independent legislators. Despite the majority, the BJP MLA party could not elect its leader.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had announced during his campaign in Odisha that the BJP will announce its chief ministerial candidate on June 6 and the new BJP government will come into effect on June 10. However, both dates were rescheduled as the BJP abstained from announcing the chief minister of Odisha on June 6 and now on June 10, the new government also did not come into form.

Now the big question is who will be the leader of the BJP MLA party and the new Chief Minister of Odisha? Who will the party put in this top position? Six days have passed since the announcement of the election results but the MLA party can’t hold a meeting or elect the leader. There are rumours about the names of many people. But the party has not clarified anyone.

Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan was rumoured to be the first Chief Minister of Odisha if the BJP government came to power. Even after the results of this election, Pradhan’s name was at the forefront for the chief minister of Odisha. But after he was sworn in as a Cabinet minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s third term government on Sunday, the rumours can now be put to rest.

Another senior BJP leader, former state president, and present Brajrajnagar MLA Suresh Pujari was called to Delhi on Sunday. There is a lot of discussion about his name after he was called to Delhi. He is said to be the next Chief Minister of Odisha. But no information has been given by the BJP yet.

The names of former Gujarat cadre IAS officer Girish Chandra Murmu, RBI Governor Shaktikanta Das, BJP state president Manmohan Samal, former state president Kanak Vardhan Singhdeo, former LOP Jayanarayan Mishra, former minister Surma Padhi are still not out of the race. Newly elected BJP MLA and former state president Suresh Pujari has been called to Delhi. It is not clear why he has been called to Delhi and what is the decision of the top leaders of the BJP behind it. But, a senior leader like Suresh Pujari was called to Delhi suddenly because his name is at the forefront for the next chief minister, which raises eyebrows.

On the contrary, it is known that the meeting of the BJP MLA party will be held on the 11th of June. The leader will be elected in the meeting of the MLA party and the new government’s swearing-in ceremony will be held on the evening of the 12th of June. BJP has postponed the swearing-in ceremony of its new government. The new government was scheduled to be sworn in on the 10th, of June. The new government was supposed to be sworn in Monday evening. But the programme has been rescheduled.

BJP leader Jatin Mohanty said, “Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself is coming on 12th June. The new Chief Minister and Cabinet will be sworn in on that day. The swearing-in ceremony in Odisha has been postponed by two days due to the Prime Minister’s busy schedule and government formation process in two other states.” Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi will hold a roadshow in Bhubaneswar on June 12 evening before attending the swearing-in ceremony of the first BJP Chief Minister at Janata Maidan, party sources said on Sunday.

As per the schedule, the roadshow will be conducted from Jaydev Vihar to Janata Maidan, where he will also address a presser. This will be Modi’s second roadshow in the state capital within a month. BJP had earlier announced to hold the historic oath-taking ceremony of the new Chief Minister of the State on June 10, however, the date was changed today and the new CM will now take oath on June 12. The saffron party is set to form its maiden government in the state after winning 78 of the 147 assembly seats.

Related Articles

Back to top button