3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018

Hockey Karnataka registered a comfortable 8-1 victory against Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu in the Quarter Final match here at the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Men) on Friday. Mohammed Raheel Mouseen starred in the match with four fabulous goals 10th, 13th, 17th and 18th minute of the match while Abharan Sudev scored the opening goal for the home team in the 7th minute. Pruthvi Raj (10′), Likith KB (15′) and KP Somaiah (19′) scored a goal each in Hockey Karnataka’s win. For Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Senthil R Nayagam (19′) scored a consolation goal. On September 23, Hockey Karnataka will take on Hockey Odisha in the first Semi Final match.

In the second Quarter Final, Hockey Odisha beat Uttar Pradesh Hockey 2-0 in a tense shootout after a 4-4 draw in regulation time. It was Teophil Kujur and Prakash Barla who converted the goals for Hockey Odisha in the shootout while, Teophil (2′,6′) had earlier scored a double in regulation time and Krishna Tirkey (18′), Nitin Mukesh Tigga (20′) also scored in Hockey Odisha’s win.
Please find attached the photos, and match schedule of the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship (Men) 2018.

Hockey Punjab meanwhile lost to Hockey Maharashtra 3-5 in a closely fought match. Tyron Pereira (5′,9′), Rahim Sayyad Niyaz (13′, 20′), Aniket Gurav (19′) scored in Hockey Maharashtra’s win. Satbir Singh (8′), Jaskaran Singh (12′) and Parvinder Singh (19′) scored for Hockey Punjab. Hockey Maharashtra will next play the Semi Final on Sunday against Hockey Haryana.

In the fourth Quarter Final, Hockey Haryana beat Hockey Jharkhand 5-3. Jagwant Singh (4′), Shivdeep (8′), Bharat (11′), Pardeep Mor (12′), Gagandeep Singh (15′) scored in Hockey Haryana’s win while Noyel Topno (16′, 19′) and Vijay Xess (17′) scored for Hockey Jharkhand. On Saturday, the Bengaluru hockey lovers will get to witness the new-age combined format where Men and Women in a combined state team will take on each other at the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Men). In the first match, Hockey Maharashtra will take on Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, in the second match Hockey Odisha will take on Hockey Haryana while in the third match, Hockey Punjab will take on Uttar Pradesh Hockey and in the fourth match Hockey Jharkhand will take on Hockey Karnataka in the the exhibition matches.

Related Articles

Back to top button